top of page

STORY BEHIND

T H E   S N A P S H O T S

 

I swear I didn't mean to


Title: Sunkissed (my fave's version of the same photo is here) | Amsterdam, September 2014


It was quite early in the morning, my goal was to just get lost in the alleys before I continue to museums hop later on that day. So the neighborhood was quite empty, piles of trash bags were here and there. I was practically just photographing empty streets, closed stores, parked bicycles, when somehow the street I randomly followed got me to walk in the direction of the sun. Naturally I lift up my camera, composing the sun, a bit unaware of the detail of the surrounding (which was a big mistake, always aware of any elements when composing), thus unaware of his presence. But then, whoila!. *had to crop out a lot to end up with this composition*


I've been openly declaring myself as a sun lover, therefore my inclination is composing the sun relative to other objects, not the other way around. Apparently he's jut got in my way, in a nice way. And for the record, I don't really enjoy photographing people.


Btw, did he stare at me?

© 2013 by ERVIN NURHAYATI

bottom of page